Chronological Table of Machine-Learning

I wanted a chronological table or a brief history of machine-learning but couldn’t find it.
So I make it with famous models and algorithms.
For each obscure item, I select its date by introducing its name in principle.
Please tell me if there are mistakes or shortages.

1805 Method of Least Squares
1901 PCA (Principal Component Analysis)
1905 Random Walk
-1925 Logistic Regression
1936 Fisher’s Linear Discriminant Analysis
1946 Monte Carlo Method
1950 RKHS (Reproducing Kernel Hilbert Space)
1950s Markov Decision Process
-1957 Perceptron
1958 Kalman Filter
1960s Hidden Markov Model
-1961 Neural Network (Multi-Layer Perceptron)
1962 L2 regularity
1967 Viterbi Algorithm
-1970 Metropolis-Hastings algorithm
1973 Dirichlet Process
1975 Mean Shirt Clustering
1975 Genetic Algorithm
1977 EM Algorithm
1980 Graphical Modeling
1982 SOM (Self-Organizing Map)
-1984 Gibbs sampling
1984 CART (Classification And Regression Tree)
1984 PAC learning
1984 Markov Random Field
1985 Bayesian Network
1986 Back-Propagating Algorithm
1988 Variational Bayesian method
1989 Graph Cut
1994 L1 regularity
1994 ICA (Independent Component Analysis)
1995 Support Vector Machine
1995 AdaBoost
1995 Particle Filter
1999 LSH (Locality Sensitive Hashing)
2000 FP-Growth
2001 Item-based Collaborative Filtering
2001 Random Forest
2001 CRF (Conditional Random Field)
2001 Expectation Propagation
2003 Slice sampling
2003 LDA (Latent Dirichlet Allocation)
2006 Deep Learning
  • 11/08/2011: Add Back-Propagating Algorithm and Deep Learning.
This entry was posted in History, Machine Learning. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Chronological Table of Machine-Learning

  1. yuanhaosun says:

    For neural network, could add “back-propagating algorithm – 1986” and “Deep learning – 2006”.

    References: ‘Learning representations by back-propagating errors’, D. Rumelhart et al., 1986, Nature. and ‘Reducing the dimensionality of data with neural networks’, G. Hinton et al., 2006, Science.

  2. shuyo says:

    I see!
    I’ll add them. Thanks!!

  3. Solomon says:

    genetic algorithm 1975

  4. Look ; I may be going a bit out here. I was eventually led to this site, looking for something I found in Discover Magazine, in either the late eighties, or early 90s, an article about a fellow w/ a team who had some funding to sort of (it seemed to me) start over on the whole ai problem. He was creating a computer that turned data into info and asked questions from it’s knowledge base. He estimated that the thing had the iq of a 2 year old. I don’t expect you to be expert about Discover Magazine, of course. Could it be the beginning of CYC? If you can help me with this, even indirectly, please write me: Thaddeus.Slamp@gmail.com. I really want to find out what happened to the darned thing, and have for a long time. I figure an interval of about 20 to 25 years, is enough to make some judgement. I realize you are interested in the theoretical algorithms of the subject (or I should say thats how it seems to me your time-line orients). Nice if you could help me track this down. (more on the device: They were doing actual new hardware, I believe, concerned w/lack of commonsence knowledge base, they were teaching it these sorts of things [if you jump in the air you fall down; really simple stuff]). It would process data in it’s database in spare time, and have new questions to ask from all its data, especially the newly organized stuff, generally the nest day (like sleep and dreams in humans). Ok…I’ve rambled enough. Hope you can help. Thanx.

    • shuyo says:

      I suppose I cannot help you because I don’t know of CYC at all. Sorry.
      Though I am also interested in Question Answering a little, as you guessed,
      I would like to tackle more primitive tasks for the present. (e.g. Sentiment Analysis, Text Summarization and so on)
      Thanks.

  5. Michalis says:

    So what about Reinforcement Learning?

Leave a Reply

